What are the requirements of the new Domestic Violence Leave Law?

Posted online

Missouri employers with at least 20 employees must provide unpaid leave to workers when they, or a family member, are victims of domestic violence. One workweek must be provided by employers with 20-49 employees and two workweeks by those with 50+ employees. Leave may be intermittent or on a reduced schedule. It does not provide for more leave than allowed under FMLA.  

Meet the Expert

Karen Shannon is Vice President of Business Consulting/CHRO for Ollis/Akers/Arney. Karen has served in senior leadership positions in banking and human resources for over 30 years. She and her team provided HR services to 5,000 employees across the US, United Kingdom, India and Mexico. Today, she works with world-wide clients on key business and HR strategies which have resulted in cost savings upward of $7 million.

Karen received her MBA and BA in Business Administration and Economics from Drury University. She is a graduate of Leadership Missouri, past president of the Junior League, and was appointed to the Board of Trustees for banker education for the Missouri Bankers Association. She has served on the Board of Directors for numerous organizations and is a regular presenter at national and regional conferences. Karen was recognized in 2000 by the Springfield Business Journal in its inaugural class of the Most Influential Women in Business.